I want a Jet Brain!

jet_brain

I learned something really neat today. In my day to day i dont really need to decompose EXE’s or DLL’s for any reason. Well today I had to because i found that an application running on one of our servers did not match the code that we had in source control. In source control the code did not work but we know that the application works because it has ran faithfully and silently for years now.

How in the world would i be able to see what the difference in our code is from the code in production? Enter JetBrains dotPeek ! This is a free decompiler that allowed me to look into the executable file thats installed in the server! All i did was install dotpeek –> File –> Open –>myapplication.exe and voila!

decompiler_overview

This literally shows me the classes and methods that are being used and i was able to find where source control was wrong and fix our project!

Thanks JetBrains!

Leave a comment